How to delete your Gmail account and Google account

 

How to delete Gmail account and Google account


Want to learn how to delete a Gmail account with or without a Google account? In this article, we'll explain what to do in each of these scenarios. The process is slightly different for desktop and mobile users, so we've prepared a separate step-by-step guide for each platform.


There can be many reasons to delete your Gmail account. You may want to start from scratch if you have an awkward username or receive too many spam letters. Alternatively, you might consider switching to a different email provider altogether. Regardless of the reason, today you will learn how to achieve your goal.


How to delete your Gmail account

How do I permanently delete my Gmail account? If you've been wondering this lately, you've come to the right place. Below is a step-by-step guide on how to delete your Gmail. It works for both Windows and macOS because you only need a browser. And those who are interested in how to delete Gmail accounts on mobile can also find the guide below.


1. Click on your profile icon in the upper right corner and select "Manage your Google Account".

How to delete your Gmail account



2. Select "Data & Privacy" from the menu on the left.


On the left menu, select “Data & privacy.”


3. Under Download or delete your data, select "Delete Google".

How to delete your Gmail account and Google account


4. Select "Delete Service" and enter your Gmail account password for verification.

How to delete your Gmail account and Google account


5. Click the trash icon next to Gmail. You can also click "DOWNLOAD DATA" to copy messages, attachments, and user settings.

How to delete your Gmail account and Google account


6. Enter the non-Gmail email you want to associate with the remaining Google services. Click SEND VERIFICATION EMAIL.

How to delete your Gmail account and Google account


7. sign in to an account other than Gmail and open the verification email. Click the link.


8. Check the box at the bottom of the message and choose "DELETE GMAIL".


How to Delete Gmail Account on Android Phone

Deleting a Gmail account on Android is similar to the "How to delete a Gmail account on a computer" instructions above. All you have to do is follow these steps:


1. Open Android Settings and scroll down to Google.

How to delete your Gmail account and Google account


2. Click on "Manage your Google Account". Under Data and Personalization, select "Delete service or your account."


3. Tap "Remove Service" and then tap the trash can next to your Gmail account.

How to delete your Gmail account and Google account


4. Follow the on-screen instructions. The remaining steps are similar to the desktop version.



How to Delete Gmail Account on iPhone


Deleting Gmail on an iOS device is not much different from a computer. Therefore, we will only deal with the main steps. You can do this from either the Gmail app or the iPhone browser. After starting the deletion, the final steps are similar to the desktop wizard.


1. In Gmail, press the hamburger menu at the top left and scroll down to Settings. Tap the account you want to delete.

How to delete your Gmail account and Google account


2. Tap "Manage your Google Account".


3. Select "Data and Personalization", then "Remove Service or Your Account" and finally "Remove Service".

How to delete your Gmail account and Google account


4. Find Gmail in the list of Google services and click on the trash can. Follow the instructions to delete your Gmail account. You can also find them in our detailed desktop guide.



5 Things You Should Know Before Deleting Your Gmail Account


Deleting a Gmail account is a serious matter. For some, it might even be comparable to divorce. Before taking the irreversible step, make sure you are aware of these 5 facts:


1. Deleting a Gmail account is final. Once you've gone through all the steps, there's no going back (well, almost - see "Can you recover a deleted Gmail account?" below). All your email and account information will be gone and you will not be able to send or receive emails. What's more, neither you nor anyone else will be able to choose the same username.

2. Your Google Account will remain unaffected. If you permanently delete your Gmail account, your Google account is not automatically deleted together. You'll still be able to use Photos, Drive, and other services.

3. No way to access other accounts. At least a few of your accounts are likely registered with this email. Once it's gone, you may no longer have access to these accounts.

4. No way to reset passwords. There are probably at least a few services that you have registered to use this Gmail account. If you forget your password, you will not be able to reset it.

5. You can download all emails. Before you delete your account, you can easily download your emails using Google Data Export. If you use IMAP, remember that only locally stored emails will remain. All synced folders will be gone like your New Year's resolution.



Delete your Google account


You can go so far as to delete not only your Gmail from your computer, but your entire Google account, which includes Drive, Photos, Calendar, and other services. Don't forget that YouTube and Google Play subscriptions will also disappear. Finally, if you have Chrome synced with your Google Account, you may want to save your bookmarks before taking the irreversible action.


To delete your entire Google Account, follow these steps:


1: Go to myaccount.google.com


2: Select "Data & Personalization" from the left menu.


3: Scroll down and select “Delete service or your account”.


4: Select "Delete your Google Account". Enter your password when prompted.


5: Download your data if you want. Then scroll down, check both boxes and click on “DELETE ACCOUNT”.


Can you recover a deleted Gmail account?

If you've changed your mind, there may still be hope to recover your deleted Gmail account. However, the longer you wait, the less likely your data still exists.

 To restore your Gmail, follow these steps:


1. Go to the Google recovery page. Enter the email address you want to recover and click "Next".

How to delete your Gmail account and Google account


2. If you get a message that no such account exists, all is lost. However, if you enter the last password of your Gmail account that you remember - you're in luck!


3. If you entered the correct password, you should receive a success message. Continue to your Google account.


4. Click on "Google Apps" at the top right next to the Google account icon. Select "Gmail", add your phone number (you'll need it for verification), and click "Send".

How to delete your Gmail account and Google account


5. Choose a verification method. It can be either an SMS or a phone call.


6. Enter the verification code you just received.


7. Congratulations, you have your Gmail account back!



Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form